More roads added to revised number coding scheme » Manila Bulletin Newsbit

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

More roads added to revised number coding scheme

Now to run from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.


The Inter-Agency Council for Traffic (I-ACT) has announced that the ‘expanded’ Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program (UVVRP) or number-coding scheme begins this week, starting at 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

As before, the number coding scheme prohibits vehicles with plate numbers of conduction stickers ending in 1 and 2 from plying the roads on Monday, 3 and 4 on Tuesday, 5 and 6 on Wednesday, 7 and 8 on Thursday, and 9 and 0 on Friday.

Vehicles that fall under the number-coding scheme will not be allowed to use the following roads: Radial roads R-1 Roxas Boulevard (CM Recto to MIA Road); R-2 Taft Avenue (Lawton to Redemptorist); R-3 South Superhighway (Quirino to Nichols Interchange); R-4 Shaw Boulevard (R. Magsaysay Blvd to Pasig Blvd); R-5 Ortigas Avenue (Santolan to Imelda Avenue); R-6 Aurora Boulevard/R Magsaysay Boulevard (R. Magsaysay/Legarda to C-5 Katipunan); R-7 Espana/Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue; R-8 A. Bonifacio Avenue (Blumentritt to EDSA Balintawak); R-9 Rizal Avenue (Carriedo to Monumento); and R-10 Northern Coastal (Recto to C-4).

The scheme also covers Circumferential Roads: C-1 C.M. Recto Avenue (Roxas Blvd to Legarda); C-2 A.H. Lacson/Quirino Avenue (Roxas Blvd to R-10); C-3 G. Araneta Avenue/Sgt. Rivera (N. Domingo to R-10); C-4 EDSA (R-10 to Macapagal Blvd); C-5 (Commonwealth Ave to South Super Highway); and C-6.

Other major thoroughfares are A. Mabini Street (Samson Road to C-3); Alabang-Zapote Road (Muntinlupa); McArthur Highway (Monumento to Valenzuela/Meycauayan Boundary); and Marcos Highway (Katipunan Ave to Sumulong Highway)

Duly-registered and franchised Public Utility Vehicles (PUVs) are also covered by the number coding scheme and are banned from using the road from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Parañaque implements ‘selective’ number coding on the following roads: San Antonio Ave., Pres. Aguinaldo St., Dominique Savio St., Japan St., Michael Rua St., France St., Doña soledad Extension and Doña Soledad Avenue in Brgy. Don Bosco, E. Rodriguez St. in Brgy. Moonwalk, East Service Rd. from Dr. Santos Ave. up to FTI Parañaque area, West Service road from Dr. Santos Ave. up to Merville Park Subdivision Parañaque area (with Window Hours).

The cities of Las Piñas, Mandaluyong and Makati implement number-coding on all roads from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

The following cities are not covered by number coding (except for roads listed): Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas and Taguig.

Vehicles like ambulances, fire trucks, police patrol cars, military vehicles with permanent marking, diplomatic vehicles, government vehicles, motorcycles, and MMDA accredited tow trucks are exempted from the UVVRP.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts