GT Radial FlatOut Race Series concludes 2016 season » Manila Bulletin Newsbit

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

GT Radial FlatOut Race Series concludes 2016 season



Over a hundred entries turned up at the Clark International Speedway last Oct. 22 for the eighth round of the GT Radial FlatOut Race Series (FORS). This served as the final battle ground for the Time Trial and Grid championships to cap off a successful 2016 season.

The country’s premier grassroots motorsports event welcomed several new changes at the start of the year. The Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) were brought in as observes to guide both the racers and organizers. Also in collaboration with the AAP, graduates of the Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) got their first track experience running in FORS. Finally, Grids A, B, and C drivers were all required to apply for a Clubman license while Grid E was added to accommodate the growing number of competitors.


Time Trial

JC Baguisa made an impressive comeback to the series by setting the fastest time in Bracket A. Eduardo Suiza still walked away with the season title with his consistent results. Sydney Sarmiento claimed back-to-back victories in Bracket B with his best lap and points. Raffy Sohu took the Bracket C best time while his older brother, Gabby, was crowned the Bracket B champion. In Bracket D was another Sohu brother, Miggy with the day’s top time. Sherwin Bargos sealed the Bracket D championship in his name. Bracket E saw Jack Saquilayan finish first, with AR Lanting named class champion. Robert Tan bagged the Bracket G championship title while Mark Pascual earned the day’s best time.

The day’s fastest time of 1:59.455 was set by Vincent Floriendo in a Ferrari 458 Challenge who also won the Bracket R class. Finally, Robert Tan was the fastest driver Grupo Toyota while Mark Bernardo took the win in The Perfect Lap.


Grid Races

Rafael La’O won the 10-lap GT Radial Grid A race, while Eduardo Suiza who bagged the Grid A title.

Sydney Sarmiento took the Smart Fuels Grid B race while class championship went to Gabby Sohu.

Joey Howard won the Competition Clutch Grid C race as well as the class title in the process. MSDP graduate, Polo Bautista, won the 8-lap Buddy Club Grid D race, while Sherwin Bargos sealed the class championship.



Richard Lanting took the Works Bell Grid E championship and finished first in the grid race.

With the 2016 GT Radial FlatOut Race Series now in the books, the focus now turns to the 8 Hour Philippine Endurance Challenge (PEC) on December 3-4 at the Clark International Speedway.

For more info or inquiries, visit the FlatOut Race Series page on Facebook (

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts