Ford Philippines lauds journalists at the 16th Annual Henry Ford Awards » Manila Bulletin Newsbit

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Ford Philippines lauds journalists at the 16th Annual Henry Ford Awards


This year's HFA awardees with Ford Managing Director, Lance Mosley.

This year’s HFA awardees with Ford Managing Director, Lance Mosley.

Ford Philippines held its 16th annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) last evening at the Bayanihan Center, Mandaluyong City to honor the exemplary work of media professionals in the automotive industry.

This year included awards in 15 categories, including ten regular categories and five special categories. Each winner was presented with a commemorative trophy and cash prizes.

The winners were selected from 204 total entries that were submitted across all categories by both automotive and non-automotive members of the print, online, and broadcast media.

The HFA continues to celebrate the excellence and standard of journalism and spotlights the most impactful stories in the automotive industry.

“It’s an honor each year to recognize our friends from the media for their professional and creative delivery of meaningful journalism. The Henry Ford Awards is a great way to highlight the contribution of journalism and its role to the motoring industry,” said Lance Mosley, managing director, Ford Philippines.


Categories and Winners

Winners in the print include Mariano Jose Tamayo of Top Gear Philippines for Automotive Print Feature, Aristeo Vicente Ilagan of Top Gear Philippines for Automotive Column, Paul John Caña of Forbes Philippines for Automotive Lifestyle Feature, Steven Edward Yu of Malaya for Smart Technology Feature and Alfred Astario Mendoza of Top Gear Philippines for Published Photograph.

Taking home honors in the digital categories are Vince Christian Pornelos of for Automotive Road Safety Feature, Ruby Shaira Panela of Rappler for Automotive Green Feature, Ray Fergil Gonzales of for Automotive Video Feature and for the second consecutive year–Paulo Rafael Subido of for Automotive Online Feature.

James Deakin of wins Automotive Blog for the third year in a row, earning Hall of Fame status from the HFA.

The Ford special categories winners are the following: Ulysses Ang of The Philippine Star for the Ford Automotive Feature, Drive of CNN Philippines for the Ford Automotive Video Feature, Jerel Fajardo of C! Magazine for the Ford Published Photograph, and Ronald de los Reyes of Business Mirror for the Ford ‘Go Further’ Feature.

Also earning Hall of Fame recognition is Fast Times, the motoring section of The Manila Times, for Best Automotive Broadsheet. Fast Times has won the category from 2014-2016. All national broadsheet automotive sections were automatically eligible and included in the competition; which were judged on content, relevance, consistency, and layout quality.


Board of Judges

An esteemed panel of judges for both phases of the 2016 Henry Ford Awards comprised experts in the academe, corporate world, and motoring industry.

The judges for the first phase included distinguished members of the academe, some of whom have been part of the HFA for the past years: Dr. Francine Racho (Vice Dean, School of Communications, University of the Asia and the Pacific), Dr. Severino Sarmenta, Jr. (Chair, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University), Dr. Elena Pernia (Dean, College of Mass Communications, University of the Philippines – Diliman) and Gary Mariano (Chair, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila).

The second phase of the competition was judged by Mark Brian Nicdao (Country External Relations for Downstream and Internal Communication Manager, Shell Philippines), Ron Castro (Former Managing Director of Goodyear Philippines and former Director for Communications – Asia Pacific of Goodyear), and Lance Mosley.

The special judges for this year’s awards included Nick Tuason (Managing Director and Editor, Digital Photographer Philippines), Michael Sicam (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather), Jayvee Fernandez (Social Media Head, Manila Bulletin and Blogger,, and Nico Faustino (TV Director and Producer).

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts