Over 100 entries at FORS Round 2 » Manila Bulletin Newsbit

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Over 100 entries at FORS Round 2




The 2017 season of the FlatOut Race Series (FORS) was in full swing as 105 entries took to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) last April 1 for Round 2.

Track temperatures sizzled under hot summer sun, but this failed to slow down the drivers who competed in the Time Attack and Grid Races.

The driver of the #696 Blanche Racing Honda Civic EG set the best time of the day in Time Attack with a 1:48.440 lap, earning him 1st place in both Bracket R and Bracket A. His strong performance in GT Radial Grid A also allowed him to take another podium with second place.



Time Attack

2016 champion, Eduardo Suiza, set a fastest lap of 1:49.583 in his #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG to claim another second for both Bracket R and A. Likewise, Dondon Portugal was again third with his  1:50.457 best.

It was the same familiar faces topping the time sheets in Bracket B. Andrew De Asis in the #23 Honda Civic EG was first with a time of 1:56.158. Ed Christopher Go claimed first in Bracket C, with a time of 1:59.043. The top driver in Bracket D was Raymond De Pano. Henry Paul De Dios was fastest in Bracket E. Robert Tan moved up the time sheet from the previous round in Bracket F, taking 1st with a 2:08.204 lap. Bracket G was once again the biggest class of the day, growing to 13 entries. Andre Tan was the fastest of the group in first.


Grid Race

The Mitsubishi Evolutions of Richmon Dela Rosa, Dondon Portugal, and Ferdie Sia jumped to an early lead in the 12-lap GT Radial Grid A race. But one by one, their AWD machines faltered. This allowed Rafael la O’ in the #1 Honda Civic EK to inherit the lead and win by a 16 sec. margin. JC Baguisa crossed the line in second and Sia hung on to finish third.

In the KYB Grid B, Patrick Dela Rosa was untouchable in the #66 Honda Civic Del Sol, winning the race by a five sec. advantage. Andrew De Asis and Sherwin Bargos were locked in a tight battle for second with De Asis taking the position until the chequered flag.

Polo Bautista was sent flying to the barriers in SmartFuels Grid C, but was able to rejoin the race and even finish second. Paul Santos’ race was relatively incident free and took first place. In third was Hector Tan.

There was a huge 14-car train in the Recaro Grid D, all fighting for position throughout the 10-lap race. Leading the pack were Robbie Alvarez in the silver #207 Honda Civic EG with the #480 small body Toyota Corolla of Raymond De Pano trailing behind. The pair would cross the line first and second in that order, followed by Jack Saquilayan in third.

Greg Suing won in Works Bell Grid E by a small 0.546 sec. gap to second placer, Ralph Tan. Lars Alonso finished a further second behind in third.

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) will be back at the Batangas Racing Circuit for Round 3 on May 20.

For more info or inquiries, visit the FlatOut Race Series page on Facebook (www.facebook.com/FlatOutRaceSeries).

The 2017 Flat Out Race Series (FORS) is sponsored by GT Radial – Philippines, KYB, EPPCO, RECARO, Staging Lanes, Competition Clutch, SmartFuels, Seiken Brake Parts, Works Bell, 602PTG, Brodeth Motorsports, Tuason Racing School, OMP, and Angeli Jewelry. It’s supported by Walter Lights and Sounds, Aeromed, Ninja Performance, Totem Bikes, CTR Suspension Parts, Tes Advertising, and 2ndGen Insurance. Media partners include 2NER Magazine, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, AutoCar Philippines, AutoDeal.com.ph, AutoIndustriya.com, C! Magazine, CarGuide.Ph, Carmudi.com.ph, Ignition.PH, JamesDeakin.Ph, JDM Underground, Manila Bulletin Drive, Pit Talk Asia, The Score, and Time Attack Manila.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Related Posts