Double points re-ignite title chase in Petron FlatOut Race Series Round 7 » Manila Bulletin Newsbit

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Double points re-ignite title chase in Petron FlatOut Race Series Round 7



After several rain-hit rounds, the Petron FlatOut Race Series (Petron FORS) warmly welcomed clear weather and perfect racing conditions during the penultimate round of 2018 last September 29. This allowed competitors to go all-out in their year-end championship battles at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC).

Double points were up for grabs for the top finishers, which all 86 competitors that day maximized to keep their title hopes alive for the end of the season. The newly-launched Super Compact 1500 Class also added to the event’s excitement. Open to all compact vehicles with a maximum 1,500cc engine displacement, expect this category to grow a lot bigger in 2019.

As the FlatOut Race Series’ official fuel and lubricant, Petron Blaze 100 Euro 6 and Petron Blaze Racing once again provided Time Attack and Grid Race drivers maximum performance and engine protection for their machines.

Time Attack

Dondon Portugal wheeled his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 7 to set the fastest time of the day, sealing Bracket R with a 1:43.830 time. In Bracket A, Gabby Sohu this time came ahead of Portugal and la O’. Younger brother, Raffy Sohu, also dominated his class in Bracket B. Raymond De Pano barely edged Miggy Sohu to win Bracket C by a 0.009 sec advantage. AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) graduate, Armand Marcaida, did well to outpace the older drivers in Bracket D. In Bracket E, Mark Anton David squeezed by for the win. 17-year-old Miguel Hortel bested lady driver, Gabie Desales, in Bracket G. Finally, the 86 Club Class saw Jermyn Sy set a 2:00.513 to claim the win.


Grid Race

Sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), the combined 10-lap Grids A, B and C race had 20 entries battle for the win. Rafael la O’ enjoyed a lights to flag victory to further extend his points lead in Petron Grid A. KYB Grid B’s first two to cross the line were penalized for breaking out of their bracket. Taking the trophy was Paolo Santos. Polo Bautista claimed a win in Recaro Grid C.

The 14-car Staunch Performance Grid D and SmartFuels 2 Race Grid E race was also as action-packed and delivered non-stop excitement. Like in Grid B, top finishers were stripped of their victories for breaking out. This handed first  to Andre Makkina Tan, who drove a superb race to win his fourth victory of the year in Grid D. Jeff Pobadora defended his position against Kody Ng to win Grid E.

The very first Super Compact 1500 race saw six drivers vie for the win. Robert Tan took the top step of the podium who was followed right behind by Gilad Krein. Mike Hortel then took the last step on the podium in 3rd.

The Petron FlatOut Race Series will stage its final round of 2018 at the Clark International Speedway on October 27.

For more info or inquiries, visit the FlatOut Race Series page on Facebook (

The 2018 Petron Flat Out Race Series (FORS) is sponsored by KYB – New SR Special, RECARO, SmartFuels, Staunch Performance x DynoJet, Carporn Racing, Hazardboy Performance, Seiken Japan, Tes Advertising, and Tuason Racing School. It’s supported by 2ndGen Insurance, Aeromed, Driftmob, Pro Simulation Karera (PSK), and Walter Lights and Sounds. Media partners include 9tro Alliance, ABS-CBN Sports and Action, AutoCar Philippines,,, C! Magazine, CarGuide.Ph,, Ignition.PH, JamesDeakin.Ph, JDM Underground, Manila Bulletin Drive, Motoring Today, Motortech.Ph, Pit Talk Asia, The Score, and Time Attack Manila.

Tags: ,

Related Posts